Organization Settings

In OfficeClip, organizations are independent entities that mimic real world business organizations, with each one being independent in the sense that users from one organization cannot see any of the data within another organization. This kind of structure can be useful to companies with multiple divisions that are independent of each other. This part of the setup documentation reviews the administrator's capabilities within each organization.

This section consists of four categories:

  1. Privileges - These sections allow you to create various roles in the organization and to set restrictions on those roles

  2. Users - This section gives the administrator access to change and update a user's information, to reset a password for a user, and to add or remove a user from an organization.

  3. Organization - The administrator can manage information about the organization such as creating a new organization, renaming organizations, changing the time zone, and adding divisions to organizations.

  4. Extranet Administration - Extranet allows limited access to OfficeClip information for partners and service providers and can serve as a support portal for customers.

  5. Rest APIguisubmenu> - Rest API is basically used to transfer data in and out of OfficeClip using http protocol.

To access this screen:

Click Settings > Organization Settings.

Privileges

These sections allow you to create various roles in the organization and to set restrictions on those roles. This adds security to the organization to ensure that users are only given to access to the areas they need.

[Important]Important

Organization Administrators cannot have any restrictions; they are given all access to all functions.

What are Roles

Within an organization there can be many administrators and also many roles, which determine the access of a person who is a user of that organization. The administrator, in creating roles, can group like people together in one role and give them permissions in that role. This determines not only what they can and cannot do, but also the information to which they do and do not have access.

OfficeClip has two predefined roles:

  • Administrator - This role cannot be restricted. An Organization Administrator will have access to all the resources in the organization-all the screens, all the data, etc.

  • All Users All the users in an organization automatically belong to this role and the administrator can restrict privileges in this role but cannot delete it.

The administrator can create other roles based on the needs of the organization, such as a sales role in which he can put various users and assign privileges and restrictions based on what the users of that role need to do.

Manage Roles

This screen allows for the management of individual roles. It also shows the names of the roles in the organization, a description, all the users within each role and, in the far right column, various icons that allow the administrator to manage user roles. These icons are based on the roles so that they can be edited according to the privileges each role has. The icon, which is visible in the All Users role, gives a list of the applications and their parts to which a user can have access. Notice that the icons are different for each role. This is because, in some cases, certain actions cannot be performed against those roles; such as, the Administrator role, which cannot be deleted or have any restrictions assigned to it.

To manage roles:

Click Settings > Organization Settings > Manage Roles (under Privileges).

  1. From here, roles can be added by clicking Add New Role.

  2. To delete a role, click the delete icon from the Actions column; to change the name of an existing role, click the rename icon and press Update after filling in the desired name.

  3. To add or remove role privileges, click the Edit Role Privileges icon from the Actions column or click Manage Role Privileges.

  4. Select the Edit Role Users icon from the Actions column or Manage Organization Administrators to select users for particular roles.

  5. To block some applications for a particular role, click on the Block icon from the Actions column and select which application the members of the roles can see.

Create a New Role

An organization can have multiple roles; all created by the administrator(s), and can be useful for separating and organizing projects and teams within your company. OfficeClip offers security through role privileges, which allow the administrator to select the applications and features of those applications that will be available to each role. You can access more information on this by clicking Manage Role Privileges.

To create a new role:

  1. Click Settings > Organization Settings > Manage Roles (under Privileges).

  2. Click Add New Role.

  3. Type a name for the new role into the field and enter a description in the text box (optional).

  4. Press Create when finished.

Organization Administrators

This screen allows the administrator to view the Available Users for Role and Users in Role by selecting the appropriate role from the Show Users for Role drop-down menu.

To view the roles:

Click Settings > Organization Settings > Organization Administrator (under Privileges).

  1. You can easily move available users into a role, such as Administrator, by clicking on each user or holding down the Ctrl key to make multiple selections and clicking the button.

  2. To remove users from a particular role, simply make the selections from the Users in Role box and click the button. The selected user(s) will no longer belong to that role, but will always at least belong to the All Users role.

  3. Click to move all the selection to the right and click to move all the selection to the left.

[Note]Note

At least one user in an organization must be in the Administrator role at all times.

Role Privileges

The administrator can give various privileges for each role within OfficeClip. This is a way to implement security in the applications, as each role can access only those applications and sources of information that are necessary for the users of that role to perform their assignments. Although users can be in multiple roles, the most restrictive role will take precedence. This enables the administrator to restrict a user without changing an existing role.

The administrator, for example, can give users in the All Users role access to Edit Content within the Contact Manager application by checking the box. However, he/she can deny the privilege to another role, such as Standard Employee, by selecting the role from the drop-down menu and unchecking the box next to Edit Content. In this scenario, no one who is a user of the Standard Employee role can edit content within the Contact Manager application, even though they are granted the access as a user in the All Users role. The more restrictive role becomes the effective role.

To set role privileges:

Click Settings > Organization Settings > Role Privileges (under Privileges).

  1. Select a Role from the drop-down menu.

  2. To give access to the selected role, check the box to the application task; to place a restriction to the selected role, uncheck the box beside the task.

  3. Click Save when finished.

Organization Applications

This feature gives the administrator control over what applications are visible on the screens in OfficeClip. For example, if a particular organization is not using the Document Sharing application, it can be blocked so that it does not appear on the users' screens. This is also useful for security purposes as it allows the administrator to block an organization's access to certain applications.

To block an application:

Click Settings > Organization Settings > Organization Applications (under Privileges).

  1. Select the application you want to block.

  2. To unblock applications, reselect application.

  3. When the selections are complete, press Save.

Access Defaults

This feature controls the default access of every type of object in the OfficeClip database. For example, you can define that all Contacts created in the system are not modifiable by anybody except the creator and administrators.

After a default is set, it can be changed for any contacts or by using a rule.

To change the default access:

Click Settings > Organization Settings > Access Defaults (under Privileges).

  1. Click on the Edit icon on the row that you want to change.

  1. Set the access and click on Save.

        Copyright © OfficeClip 2016