Manage Accessibility with Privileges

These sections allow you to create various roles in the organization and to set restrictions on those roles. This feature adds security to the organization to ensure that users are only given to access to the areas they need.

Important:

Organization Administrators cannot have any restrictions; they are given all access to all functions.

What are Roles

Within an organization there can be many administrators and also many roles, which determine the access of a person who is a user of that organization. The administrator, in creating roles, can group like people together in one role and give them permissions in that role. This determines not only what they can and cannot do, but also the information to which they do and do not have access.

OfficeClip has two predefined roles:

  • Administrator - This role cannot be restricted. An Organization Administrator will have access to all the resources in the organization-all the screens, all the data, etc.

  • All Users All the users in an organization automatically belong to this role and the administrator can restrict privileges in this role but cannot delete it.

The administrator can create other roles based on the needs of the organization, such as a sales role in which he can put various users and assign privileges and restrictions based on what the users of that role need to do.

Manage Roles

This screen allows for the management of individual roles. It also shows the names of the roles in the organization, a description, all the users within each role and, in the far right column, various icons that allow the administrator to manage user roles.

These icons are based on the roles so that they can be edited according to the privileges each role has. The icon, which is visible in the All Users role, gives a list of the applications and their parts to which a user can have access.

Notice that the icons are different for each role. This is because, in some cases, certain actions cannot be performed against those roles; such as, the Administrator role, which cannot be deleted or have any restrictions assigned to it.

To manage roles:

  1. Click Settings > Organization Settings > Organization Settings > Privileges.
  2. On the Manage Role screen, you will be able to see the roles of all the users.

  3. To add a new role, click Add New Role.
  4. Add the role name and description, and click Add.

  5. On the next screen, checkmark the tasks within each application, for which you want to give access for this particular role. Click Save once done.

  6. After managing access to different tasks, it will take you to the add user screen for that particular role. It will show a list of available users. Select a user or hold the Ctrl key and select users to make multiple selections and click on the icon. It will add a user for the role which you have created. To move all the users to the right side, click on the icon. After adding users in role, click Save.

  7. Finally, on the Manage role screen, you will see the new role created and its users.

  8. To delete a role, click the icon from the Actions column.
  9. To change the name of an existing role, click the icon, add a new role name and click Add to save the changes.
  10. To add or remove role privileges, or to change access for any task within an application, click on the icon from the Actions column. Checkmark or uncheck the access box and click Save.
  11. To edit the Users in role click on the icon from the Actions column. Add or remove the users and click Save.
  12. To block some applications for a particular role, click on the setup cancel icon block icon from the Actions column. Select the application and click on the icon. Once the selection is moved to the Blocked Applications, the users in that role will not be able to see that application.

Organization Administrators

This screen allows the administrator to view the Available Users for Role and Users in Role by selecting the appropriate role from the Show Users for Role drop-down menu.

To view the roles:

  1. Click Settings > Organization Settings > Privileges > Organization Administrator.

  2. You can easily move available users into a role, such as Administrator, by clicking on each user or holding down the Ctrl key and selecting users to make multiple selections, and click the button.
  3. To remove users from a particular role, simply make the selections from the Users in Role box and click the button. The selected user(s) will no longer belong to that role, but will always at least belong to the All Users role.
  4. Click to move all the selection to the right and click to move all the selection to the left.
Note:

At least one user in an organization must be in the Administrator role at all times.

Role Privileges

The administrator can give various privileges for each role within OfficeClip. This is a way to implement security in the applications, as each role can access only those applications and sources of information that are necessary for the users of that role to perform their assignments. Although users can be in multiple roles, the most restrictive role will take precedence. This enables the administrator to restrict a user without changing an existing role.

The administrator, for example, can give users in the All Users role access to Edit Content within the Contact Manager application by checking the box. However, he/she can deny the privilege to another role, such as Standard Employee, by selecting the role from the drop-down menu and unchecking the box next to Edit Content. In this scenario, no one who is a user of the Standard Employee role can edit content within the Contact Manager application, even though they are granted the access as a user in the All Users role. The more restrictive role becomes the effective role.

To set role privileges:

  1. Click Settings > Organization Settings > Privileges > Role Privileges.

  2. Select a Role from the drop-down menu.
  3. To give access to the selected role, check the box to the application task; to place a restriction on the selected role, uncheck the box beside the task.
  4. Click Save when finished.

Organization Applications

This feature gives the administrator control over what applications are visible on the screens in OfficeClip. For example, if a particular organization is not using the Document Sharing application, it can be blocked so that it does not appear on the users' screens. This is also useful for security purposes as it allows the administrator to block an organization's access to certain applications.

To block an application:

  1. Click Settings > Organization Settings > Privileges > Organization Applications

  2. Checkmark the application you want to use.
  3. If an application is not in use, uncheck the application.
  4. When the selections are complete, press Save.

Access Defaults

This feature controls the default access of every type of object in the OfficeClip database. For example, you can define that all Contacts created in the system are not modifiable by anybody except the creator and administrators.

After a default is set, it can be changed for any contacts or by using a rule.

To change the default access:

  1. Click Settings > Organization Settings > Privileges > Access Defaults.

  2. Click on the edit icon on the row that you want to change.

  3. Set the access and click on Save button.